## **APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS**

Prepare the original and six (6) copies of the application. Mail the original and five (5) copies to the North Carolina Utilities Commission, 4325 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4325. Keep the other copy for your files. Send check or money order payable to the N. C. Dept. of Commerce/Utilities Commission in the amount of \$250.00 to cover the required filing fee.

The application must be signed by the applicant, if an individual; by a partner, if a partnership; and by an authorized officer, if a corporation. The signature on the original application must be notarized. All the information indicated must be given, if applicable. If the application is incomplete, it will be returned for the omitted information. This will delay the processing of the application.

The Exhibits are very important and should be prepared with great care. If the application is for regular route authority, please indicate very clearly in writing the route or routes within North Carolina over which you desire to operate.

Upon receipt of the filing fee and the correctly completed application, the Commission will issue an Order giving notice of your application and mail the Order to all certificated passenger carriers having the same authority for which you are applying. Any carrier desiring to protest your application must do so within 30 days from the date of the Commission Order. If protests are received, the application will be assigned for public hearing. If no protests are received within 30 days from the date of the Order, you must then submit an affidavit attesting to your fitness and ability to provide the requested service in compliance with the provisions of the Public Utilities Act as set forth in G.S. 62-262.1.

The applicant cannot lawfully conduct passenger operations until the Commission has granted the application for passenger authority. Prior to commencing operations under the authority granted by the Commission, the applicant must comply with filing requirements set forth in the Order granting the authority, i.e. Form E (proof of liability insurance-minimum limits of \$5 million); tariff of rates and charges; list of buses and \$1.00 per unit listed; and designation of process agent.

Any questions about the application or the procedure set forth herein should be directed to the Operations Division at 919/733-4036. Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday. The office is located in the Dobbs Building, Room 4216, 430 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina. The mailing address is 4325 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4325.

NOTE: APPLICATIONS FILED ON BEHALF OF A CORPORATION, AN ASSOCIATION, OR AN LLC SHALL BE SIGNED AND FILED BY AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE R1-5 OF THE RULES AND REGULATIONS ADOPTED BY THE NORTH CAROLINA UTILITIES COMMISSION.